Sometimes I just don't feel like praciticing...

December 22, 2007 at 06:58 AM · I have a question.

I'm a musician, a violist actually. I've been playing viola for ten years and I'm in my second year at a music school. I'm doing well in my studio and I work hard. In another ten years, I'd like to be playing in a orchestra somewhere and I'd also like to teach either privately in a college setting.

But here's the thing... I have a life...outside of music. Some days, I just don't feel like praciticing. So some days I don't. and I dont REALLY feel like the world will end because I didnt practice.

And sometimes, I think about things that don't involve music. Like now...it's Christmas break and after a stressful quarter of school I finally got to come home to spend time with my family. But as a result, I haven't been practicing like I would during school.

It sure does seem like every other musician everywhere in the world lives, breathes, and eats their instrument 24/7 plus some, but that's just not me. So does this mean that somewhere in my subconscious I dont REALLY want to be a musician? Or am I the normal one?

Maybe this is a silly question... but i seriously wonder sometimes... Is it okay to be a musician and a regular person too?

Replies (25)

December 22, 2007 at 03:07 PM · Nope. I'd say there's plenty of us who, up to some point, need to be in the proper mood to practice. I've heard of at least one of the 20th century masters who claimed to practice about 45 mins. a day, forget which, up to guys like Casals, who said he spent the first hour finding E on the D, and practiced all day. If you NEVER want to practice, or if you push NEEDFUL practicing off repeatedly, like not planning your preparation to be ready for recitals or concerts, & then trying to cram? maybe you are not cut out for a playing career. Otherwise you sound like a fairly normal college student to me. Sue