When to throw in the towel?

December 21, 2007 at 04:41 PM · I'm an adult beginner violinist and I have been playing for 9 months. I'm currently on Suzuki book one and practicing Minuet I and Minuet II. IMO they sound pretty horrid, my bow shakes and sounds TERRIBLE down by the frog, on long bows I at times get a wobbly uneven sound. Overall I would say when I play it isn't pleasant to the ear. I have a death grip with my left hand, I still don't really understand bowing at all.

Now I am seriously not looking for blanket encouragement to continue, or looking for pity because I'm down that's annoying when people do that. I'm looking for brutal honesty (which I can't get from my wife, all I get from her is "it sounds great honey" although I do give her credit for keeping a straight face), is it worth it to continue? Or is the violin just not my instrument?

I've been renting and I don't want to anymore, so it's either hang it up, or I'm going to dump a bunch into a violin since the resale always screws you, and I don't see a point in buying a $400 violin, then a $700 violin, then a $1,200 violin all the way up and losing money on each one, may as well buy the $1,800 one you want right off the bat. So before I blow the money is it worth it to continue?

Thanks for any brutally honest replies, don't worry about wearing kid gloves or hurting my feelings, I can take it.

Replies (78)

December 21, 2007 at 04:49 PM · I think you're concentrating on the wrong thing.

If you started as an adult, you must know that you're playing for YOU, not NYT music critics at Carnegie Hall.

If you enjoy the challenge of learning the violin, stick with it.

If you went into violin thinking you'd sound like Perlman in a couple of months, you were deluded.