Viola String Review

December 18, 2007 at 12:21 AM · Well ever since I started playing the viola forever ago(8 years ago I'm 14) I've always been fasinated with strings and how they work. So about 3 years ago I started makeing a journal of strings and what I thought of them. Ofcourse, I am a violist so this may not be much help to other violinist but I think that alot of viola strings(excluding C) are quite similar to violin strings.

Strings in order by pitch(A,D,G and finally C)

A strings:

Larsen A -- Overall and amazing string. Goes impecably well with all strings be it gut, or synthetics. The only really problem would be Pirazzis which clash horribley with Larsens.

Jargar A -- Good string with Dominants and Visions. Doesn't really sit well with gut strings. The medium gauge version gets a little scratchy in higher positions. The forte is rather hard to play in higher.

Kaplan Solutions A -- Probally not the best A string I have ever tried, matches decently well with the Kaplan Golden Spiral strings.

Dominant A -- I don't like this string at all I simply destest it I will never, NEVER have a Dominant A string on my viola again. To me it doesn't have the "A string sound" that most violist want to syntheticey.

Obligato A -- Nice with the Obligato set other than that don't try one just to try one out. . . it's a waste of money.

Pirazzi A -- Well. Compare it a Larsen that that is pretty high tension. Though it lacks something vital that I can't really deside which sperates it from the Larsen.

Eudoxa A -- A bit dull on my Sderci(1924), but it could just be my viola. This string is much more stable than the Oliv.

Oliv A -- Sort of just like the Obligato but unlike the violin E they're different. I still wondered when I used this string "What if it(A string) was gold-plated?". Matches with the set and really nothing much else.

Zyex A -- Four words only "BRIGHT AND REALLY LOUD"

D Strings: