I need a piece for violin and viola

November 20, 2007 at 03:38 AM · I am a violin performance student in my sophomore year in college. I was born and raised and began my music education in Honduras, Central America. After being away from my family and friends for a year and a half I am going back home for the winter break, and I am trying to put together a recital to play while I am there. I already have enough material to play a full length recital, but I think it would be cool if I could find a nice piece for violin and viola (and piano if necessary) to play with my former teacher, who is a violist. I need a piece that is not too hard since I will have less than a month to learn it. Any suggestions? Oh, and the rest of the recital is going to be Bach's Partita No. 3 in E, Grieg's violin Sonata in G, and the first movement of the Khachaturian violin concerto.

Replies (20)

November 20, 2007 at 04:09 AM · Greetings,

Beethoven-Three Duets, WoO 27, Violin and Viola

Bruni-Three Duos Concertants, Op. 25

Handel-Nine Duets From Concerti Grossi Op. 6

Martinu-Three Madrigals, Op. 313, Violin and Viola

Mozart-12 Duets, K. 487, Violin and Viola

Spohr-Duet In E Minor, Op. 13, Violin and Viola

Milhaud-Sonatina, Op. 226, Violin and Viola

Stamitz-Duet No. 1 In C Major, Op. 10

Fuchs-Twelve Duets, Op. 60, Violin and Viola

Mann-Invocation For Violin and Viola

Locatelli-6 Sonatas, Op. 4, Vol. 1

I strongly recommend the Martinu,

Cheers,

Buri

November 20, 2007 at 05:03 AM · Wow, this is exactly why I love v.com so much, there is so many great musicians here who have so much more experience and knowledge than myself, and who are always willing to help. By the way, I always read your comments, Mr. Brivati, since you seem so knowledgeable, and I am honored that you would respond to my thread.

Thanks a lot.

November 20, 2007 at 01:29 PM · Pleyel also did some nice duos that aren't too hard.