Violin in Cremona

October 9, 2007 at 05:01 AM · Hello,

I am going to Italy next summer to visit a couple of cities an plan on stopping to cremona. I have been playing violin for 3 years now, and my violin needs an upgrade. I taught it would be interesting to buy a violin in cremona. As anyone had previous experience of shopping in cremona. I am also wary of the prices I would have to pay... I have a budget of around 1500$ with a potential increase to 2500$. I would prefer to stay on the lower end of this scale. I already have a nice bow (carbon fiber that works like a charm).

I am stopping to Cremona as the last city of my trip after venize and florence. Should I start by cremona and if prices are too expensive go to florence to find a violin?

Thanks for any input.

Replies (26)

October 9, 2007 at 03:21 PM · Hi Claude

With your budget it would be best to perhaps buy a violin at home. For me at this end the Chinese instruments are best. Try your local violin shop. Handmade violins in Italy start at around $7000.........

Cremona is a great town to visit ....I was there on the weekend and even though I vist often due to work it still excites!

cheers

Sean Bishop

October 9, 2007 at 03:26 PM · Yikes,

This is partly what I feared. I would have made a good story for my violin to get it in Italy... But they must carry violin from other countries or prices.

Lol, at worst I'll bring back a violin case (lol)

October 9, 2007 at 07:31 PM · Claude,

I brought back a very fine violin from Cremona last year. The maker is Michele Buccelle. He apprenticed with Maurizio Tadioli who is quite well known in Cremona. Both make great instruments. Check out the website:

http://www.musafianorthamerica.com/Maurizio%20Tadioli.htm

Have fun, Marty

October 9, 2007 at 10:25 PM · I checked their web site, but they don't talk about the price one would expect to pay to bring back a violin. At 7000$ in the low starting point, I won't bring back any violin...