What music pieces are a good idea for auditioning for Juilliard

October 6, 2007 at 07:26 AM · What pieces are good for audition music for a advanced school such as Juilliard? I want to go there in 4 more years, and on their website they say that students will have to audition their repertoire, but they don't say anything in specific. So what are some good ideas? Also, do I play just one piece for them for do I play multiple pieces along with scales? I seriously have no clue what to play or what to expect. I am a freshman in high school and I have been playing the violin for around 9 months but I've made lots of advancement and I learn real fast and I can play good if I practice of course. I know My high school years will zip by and I don't want to wait and find out in my senior year that I should've prepared for this a long time ago. How hard are the pieces? How long are they? I seriously have no clue what's going to be thrown at me . Could someone please give me some suggestions on any tips, idea, piece ideas, what scales, etc. And where I could find these pieces in Houston, TX. I want to go to a good music school real bad, so please, any other good music school suggestions is welcome since I might not make it to Juilliard or i might not be able to afford to live in NYC.

Replies (78)

October 6, 2007 at 12:21 PM · With respect to your ambitious and hard-working atitude, I feel that if your goal is to go to Juilliard (you would have had about 3 years of instruction when you graduate), you will be disappointed at the outcome. The level of Juilliard is extraordinarily high. This is not to discourage you from trying, but to help you realistically focus your goals so you have a higher odd of achieving success than disappointment.

As far as audition repertoire, the best way is to contact the school (or better yet, visit them) and get to know the school inside out. Each school may have a little different requirement, but most auditions are usually standard.