Up or down bow for the opening of the Mozart G major

October 1, 2007 at 01:40 AM · I'm doing a survey with some of my students as to whether an up bow or a down bow should be used for the opening of the Mozart G major violin concerto.When I was a student I learnt it with a down bow.At a masterclass given by Franco Gulli he advocated an up bow.There are very subtle difference,although the up bow is more elegant it changes the emphasis of the notes in the chord.Then what about all the orchestral parts,some orchestras start down whilst the soloist enters with an up.I'd be really intetested to hear v.commies thoughts on this issue.

Replies (23)

October 1, 2007 at 01:17 PM · V.

October 1, 2007 at 03:12 PM · _

I I

October 1, 2007 at 03:20 PM · What's your artistic concept and vision of the piece? This is the question I always try to answer when choosing fingerings and bowings.

I know that Isaac Stern and Ivry Gitlis both start on an upbow. However, Gitlis pointed out to me that for "my interpretation goals" starting on down bow seemed to make more sense for me. When I taught a student this concerto recently, I noticed starting on up bow seems better for her.

So do what you feel more comfortable. Within certain limits, there are no concrete rules in violin playing.

October 2, 2007 at 12:14 AM · Greetings,

I have another question concerning this deceptively difficult cocnerto for those who have had a lot of experience with the orchestral part. I am particularly interested in the fingerings and bowings use dfrom bar 28of the 1st movement onwards?

do you stay in first psoition or use the a string. For me the the lower position sounds better but then there are all those shrill modern e strings to contend .

I would be grateful for answers primarily from those who have experienced playing this orchestral part rather than just speculaiton.;)

Cheers

BUri