Bow tilt

September 27, 2007 at 02:30 AM · I have taught (and was taught) for many years that the bow should tilt slightly towards the fingerboard. Why is this? As a teacher, I like to tell students why they are doing something so that they'll hopefully remember, but I'm not sure on this one.

Thanks!

Replies (76)

September 27, 2007 at 02:59 AM · You should do an experiment. Play a scale with hair tipped towards the bridge, away from the bridge and flat hair. Then do the same thing with staccato bows. Then something with double stops. Then something with double stops on successive down bows. Try other bowing patterns too. See what you find out . . .

September 27, 2007 at 03:13 AM · Excellent answer.

September 27, 2007 at 03:16 AM · Because they're too lazy to flatten their wrists.

September 27, 2007 at 03:24 AM · Greetings,

one explanation I have heard is that the full hair actually spreads too wide on the string and chokes off overtones so less sound is produced.

Can@t handle this level of technical stuff myself but basically if you use a very tight bow hair like in the traditional Franco Belgian school you have to tilt the stick other wise the bow doesn`t er, function too well. With looser hair it tend sot be flatter.Check out Ralph Klayman`s site for a discusison of this

Cheers,

Buri

September 27, 2007 at 03:45 AM · An imaginative guess:

(WARNING:-)This is a guess, if this were real advice you would be advised where to find a teacher in your area for more information).

I wonder if it could be to create the stable interaction between sounding point control and f2...

September 27, 2007 at 03:58 AM · It involves more than just the angle of the hair on the string.