Discouraged Violin Performance Major--about to call it quits!

September 26, 2007 at 07:18 PM · Hello everyone! I'm a 2nd year college student studying music education with a concentration on violin. I have a dear friend who is currently a violin performance major and she has been going through a rough patch recently. She sustained a pretty bad playing injury in her neck and back for which she is seeing a physical therapist about, but recently she has been talking about quitting completely. She is a more than qualified performance major and has a lot of potential...but her heart isn't in it right now. Is there anything I can do to encourage her to stay in the program?

Thanks for all of your suggestions...I am very grateful for your advice!

Replies (20)

September 26, 2007 at 07:30 PM · This probably isn't what you want to hear, but maybe you SHOULDN'T encourage her to stay in the program.

The life of a professional musician can be mighty tough. For many people, no matter how talented, making music a wonderful hobby can be the right move. If I had it to do over, I definitely would find a different way to pay the rent.

September 26, 2007 at 07:27 PM · Having reached that level, her adviser would be the best place to start. If it is just burnout and frustration from injuries, she may need to get some performance counseling to see her way through--as in therapy for her frustration.

Now, if it's one of those life changes that she has to work through, she needs her friends and family most to help her feel her way through.

She might as one direction, switch focus on her program both in respect of the injuries and to shake things up a little?