How to tune a violin for a beginner?

September 12, 2007 at 04:51 AM · Hi Just reading a discussion on metronomes, as an aside, Oliver Steiner mentioned the following:

Absolutely no tuner (of the kind that tells you whether you "on pitch" when you play into its microphone!) These are so harmful. I absolutely guarantee that anyone who uses one of these to determine whether a particular note in a piece, etude or scale is in tune will train themselves to have terrible intonation.

I'm an adult beginner, been learning for just over a year now, and I'm not confident enough to tune my violin with no help at all. To make sure my violin was in tune I initially tuned every string to my piano - but that apparently is out of tune.

So I started using a guitar tuner with an LED display arrow that shows a note is either sharp or flat. Is this going to ruin my intonation?

If so, what can I do?

I had no teacher contact all summer. Sometimes with new strings or temp changes my instrument will need tuning.

What would folks suggest? I can try a tuning fork for A but what of the others?

Replies (34)

September 12, 2007 at 05:31 AM · That's a good question. First match the A string to some external reference. Then get the sound of a fifth in your head, maybe by singing the first five notes of a scale, and tune the strings that are adjacent to the A string. Once the string is in the ballpark, play the two open strings together and adjust the untuned one until you don't hear dissonance. After the D string is tuned, tune the G to it.