Instrument for adult begnner

September 12, 2007 at 04:50 AM · I am an adult beginner, having played the violin for only 2 and /2 years, and I am a very frequent visitor to this website. I can say that I am at least as passionate about the violin as any of the other adult beginners who post to this discussion board. My question is about an instrument for someone like me. I would like to skip the stages of going through increasingly better violins as I progress (very slowly) towards a certain level, and just get the nicest violin I can afford. What I would like to know is how good a violin should I get, that would make a difference to me in my playing and practicing? And knowing that my technique will never be wonderful (in this lifetime), how good a violin is too good?

Replies (26)

September 12, 2007 at 05:44 AM · Seems to me that you might be missing an interesting and educational process by opting out of the gradual upgrade path. Given a dearth of experience it might be tough picking out the violin you want to spend your life with; how will you know it if you don't know what you like, and what you dislike?

But that's perhaps not the main issue. Sounds like you want to get a good violin, and are looking for a price limit. Again, tough situation. It really depends on what you can afford. If you have plenty of money, get something nice with a good certificate, and it'll probably increase in value over time.

The problem with getting into it with insufficient experience is the danger that you may develop a taste for something else in time; then there's the problem of trading up (or sideways) to consider. If the new instrument is coming from the same source as the original, you ought to get a decent allowance for the trade, but if it's another shop or a private seller the trade may not be favorable, or even possible.