Where do you practice?

September 4, 2007 at 05:39 AM · Do you ever want to play late at night?

I'm concerned that I might be disturbing my neighbors when I practice. I have a heavy practice mute, play at reasonable hours (no later than 9), and try to move myself to a remote area of my apartment when I play. Even so, the sound must shoot through the other apartments.

Does anyone go to some other place, other than their home, to practice? Am I supposed to drive to the park and play?

Has anyone used an alloy practice mute? Is it more effective than a rubber practice mute?

Replies (23)

September 4, 2007 at 06:11 AM · I've got one of the heavy steel nugget claw things, and it definitely mutes the sound, the tone, everything. Enough that intonation sometimes doesn't seem right. But, it's good for playing when no one else wants to hear (always, in my case.)

I'm a manager at a pizza place, and I sometimes go there at night.

September 4, 2007 at 09:57 AM · Ian,

How late is late? I'd say that 9.00pm is far to early!!! I'm sure playing until 10.00 is OK at least. BTW, you could go and ask your nearest neighbours what they hear, does it bother them.

I used to practice in my bedroom with my kids the other side of the wall. It didn't bother them and they liked it (this is when I was starting out too).

You may find that through a concrete floor/ceiling or outside wall you're not as audible as you think or certainly that someone watching their own TV in the living room wouldn't notice you playing anyway. Just my two cents worth. All the best!

September 4, 2007 at 01:00 PM · I practice using a rubber practice mute. I used to use a metal one but I guess I play a bit better now and don't get as much flack about my practicing. As to where I practice--in the library /study in the back of the house.