Is it OK to install fine tuners on the four strings ?

August 27, 2007 at 05:44 AM · I am an adult beginner and sometimes fine tuning my violin becomes very difficult because the pegs do not rotate smoothly. I have already tried chalk to tighten the pegs when they become loose and have tried lubricants when the pegs become sticky, but this not always does the job. Of course, one solution to this problem would be to install fine tuners on all the strings. However, I have noticed that most professional violinists use only one fine tuner precisely on the E string.

My specific question is : Are there any disadvantages in having fine tuners insatalled on the four strings ? Wouid these disadvantages explain why most violinists only use one fine tuner?

Replies (65)

August 27, 2007 at 06:11 AM · I use fine tuners on all four of my strings. The reason I hear most often against fine tuners is that it alters the length of string behind the bridge, thus adjusting the tone. For the fine tuners that are added onto the tail piece, I can see that this might possibly be a problem. However, my tail piece has the fine tuners built in, so the length of string is actually similar to what you would get with out the fine tuners. I've also heard that these tail-pieces will sometimes break, and the only way to fix it is to get a new tailpiece. Well, I've had my violin for a good number of years, and have not had any problems with the mechanism. If you look after it carefully, then it won't break.

That being said, being a beginner, I don't think you should worry as to whether or not your instrument has fine tuners or not. IF you want them, go get them. It will definately help with tuning the open strings, which is a great start for anyone.

But, I'd also like to hear from other violinists, why do you use or not use fine tuners on A, D, and G?