Publish or Perish

August 20, 2007 at 10:14 PM · Any one got any advice on how to get music published?

Replies (3)

August 21, 2007 at 03:46 PM · I've been thinking of doing the same with some arrangements I'm working on...

What I've been told to consider is ...

a) Since I'm still an undergraduate, try to do it as a co-publish/collaboration with my mentor that I was working with, who has her doctorate.

b) See what kind of audience you're going for, what level of players...a publisher will probably want you to consider the levels of difficulty (which you can find descriptions from groups like ASTA, American String Teacher's Association).

c) See what's coming out from the publisher...make sure they don't have like 5 things similar to what you're doing coming out, because then they'll probably not be interested. It should also be a publisher that would be interested in general.

I'd also check with some trusted friends/professors that do arranging/composing, and maybe have had things published.

September 5, 2007 at 04:09 PM · My own experience was to email about 130 music publishers, only three or four responded and as far as I can tell none of them listened to what I wrote,

so this is clearly not the way to do it.

Professional composers who I have asked say that the thing to do is to get compositions performed first and then think about publishing.

September 8, 2007 at 04:54 PM · Why not self-publish?

I self-publish on the Web, 236 arrangements (mainly for string quartet) with more coming all the time:

http://stores.sibeliusmusic.com/jacklichmusic

I have used both Finale and Sibelius to "typeset" my music. I used to use Finale full-time, but marketing the music was more difficult for me on the Web using Finale. I needed to secure my own banking, and had no security for how many prints could be made on-line, OR, I would have to print and mail all scores and parts, which can be time consuming, and interrupt one's schedule.