My teacher wants me to sign a contract

August 19, 2007 at 05:48 PM · I'm an adult amateur that has been studying for a little over 1.5 years with the same teacher. So far, i've been happy with our student/teacher relationship. He has other students as well, mostly under the age of 18. At our last lesson, he told me he was raising his lesson rate $6.00 per lesson (for 30 minutes). This is the third rate raise in the last 18 months. I'm not overly concerned about that but the face that I received a letter in the mail (it was sent to all of his students) requiring us to sign a contract. It was a whole 'form' that had to be filled out and the back page was a detailed legal agreement. Since i've always paid my monthly fees on time and have never bounced a check, am I just being picky or does this sound abnormal to others on this site? He stated that this is his sole source of income, so he needs to have everything in contract form, but is it my problem that he doesn't have a regular job? I'm leaning towards changing instructors. Opinions from other teachers would be greatly appreciated!

Dave

Replies (44)

August 19, 2007 at 06:02 PM · Dave, doing taxes as a freelancer can be a nightmare! The contract may just be a way to make a system and keep paperwork under control or simply comprehensible. It might also be something like a studio policy regarding cancellations and so on. Read the fine print: if it isn't locking you in, I don't understand what the problem is, other than one of principle. If you are concerned, you could mention it to your teacher. I hope you have a relationship where you feel open about discussing things like this.