FASHIONABLE, DESIGNER CASES FOR WOMEN?

August 5, 2007 at 08:19 PM · Hello, this is my first post. Let me introduce myself--I'm a pianist, with a violinist's heart.

From working in a violin shop and browsing violin/viola cases online, I've noticed that there aren't many options in terms of fashion for cases. Granted it's more important to purchase a case for its protectiveness, but me, my girlfriend and her violinist friends all think there needs to be a revolution!

I'm approaching a major U.S. designer with some case designs for women. since women and younger girls like to accessorize, why not accessorize their violin cases?

My question is, is it just us, or do the female violinist population agree that they're sick of black, brown, grey, and other dreary colour options for the exterior? I believe class and sophistication can be brought to violin cases.

Like purses, if every woman had the same coloured or similar coloured purse, it would be confusing, no?

Anyway, I would just like to ask all of you if you would give me some honest input on this subject!

Thank you in advance,

Ed

Replies (25)

August 5, 2007 at 10:56 AM · Oh by the way, who here likes Vera Bradley?

August 5, 2007 at 08:22 PM · I couldn't agree more. <3

August 5, 2007 at 08:47 PM · Something too flashy attracts too much attention.

Thus why Musafia creates cases with positively gorgeous interior appointments (look at their custom cases with all the manner of textiles and designs), but the exteriors are always plain.

August 5, 2007 at 09:16 PM · I'd like to see something in ripped denim, please.

August 5, 2007 at 09:19 PM · Is this for real? Violin cases: the next Prada handbag? ;-)

Anyway, I never even thought about the possibility of "designer violin cases for women". I'm perfectly happy with my black Musafia. (Customized interiors are pretty cool though.)