Reasonable Expectations

August 3, 2007 at 05:56 PM · At 38 years of age with but a few months of lessons prior. Having found a good teacher and being (as was mentioned by my previous teacher) a fairly fast learner. What can one reasonably expect to accomplish in a few years with practicing faithfully 1 hour a day.

Would a few years be enough to say,play some slow but beautiful classical songs,that at least family and friends would enjoy and not simply be "kind" by letting me play for them?

What are the typical phases of learning and accomplishment for students my age?

Replies (25)

August 3, 2007 at 07:52 PM · Hey Paul,

I'm 35, and started playing violin in April of this year. I'm a pro guitarist that left a touring band in March, came off the road, and wanted a change/chance to pursue something completely different than what I was doing musically. It has been a humbling experience for me to be a "beginner" at something again, and alot of fun. I intend to stick with the instrument for the long haul.

I also practice for about an hour per day on weeknights, and 4-6 hours Sat and Sun. If all you can devote is an hour per day (and that is nothing to snuff at, seeing as how in adulthood, "life" tends to "happen" a bit more with work, etc) I think you can certainly expect to play some nice classical peices of music for family/friends within a years time....maybe sooner if you learn quickly. As an example,many of the pieces in the Suzuki method books 1 and 2 are not all that difficult. I'm just finishing up book 3, and hope to start working on a something new soon, in addition to all the other chops building exercises (Schradiack, Hirmaly, Wolfhart,Introducing the Positions, Melodious Double Stops book, etc) that I pour over every week. As the saying goes: "You get out what you put in"