$25,000 violin

July 30, 2007 at 05:26 AM ·

Replies (45)

July 30, 2007 at 07:19 AM · Oooh, get the popcorn!

July 30, 2007 at 10:01 AM · NYU demolished Edgar Allan Poe's house to build a law school building. You couldn't pay me to go to school there.

July 30, 2007 at 01:26 PM · you're going to hate this advice, but wait. wait wait wait wait wait. i repeat: wait (!!) to buy a really fine violin. as a recent conservartory graduate, i knew people who came in with violins that, after a year or two, would just simply not work for them due to technical changes, or simply a new idea of the sound that one wants after being in a particularly competitive setting. unless you're willing to take the chance of having to sell your new violin and buying another one in a year or two, i say wait (as long as your current violin is adequate) until after your freshman year to start looking for a new fiddle. i think you'll find something that suits you much better.

however, if you are looking for a good violin, i recommend taking a day trip to Baltimore to Perrin and Associates. I bought two violins from them in the past 4 years and I recommend them without hesitation. they have great contemporary fiddles as well as some fine old ones, too.

July 30, 2007 at 02:18 PM · Unless you know exactly what you're doing and what you'd be bidding on, auctions are probably not the way to go. Of the options mentioned, I'm familiar with Moennigs, with whom I've done business for the last 30 years. As far as I'm concerned, they are simply the best dealer to deal with, period. Their prices are reasonable, service is excellent, and have a great reputation.

I have a bow in now for trade in a major Michigan dealer. They're willing to trade and give me 90% of what I paid. At Moennig, on the other hand, when I traded in a violin, I got 50% MORE than what I paid for it.