Suggestions for a Stravinsky / Orff / Respighi fan

July 12, 2007 at 08:50 PM · Hello. I’m new to violinist.com. It’s been so much fun to read through the backlog!

I’m looking for some new orchestral pieces to listen to. I don’t have a strong academic musical history background but I have fairly eclectic musical tastes and am open to a wide variety of styles. In general, I love really dark, atmospheric, “meaty” works and I tend to dislike a lot of chamber music (think: NOT something like Beethoven’s Minuet, for example). If I list some of my favorite pieces, perhaps folks can make suggestions in a similar vein?

Stravinsky’s “Rite Of Spring”

Prokofiev’s violin concerto, no. 2 op. 63 (particularly the 2nd movement)

Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Russian Easter Overture”

Beethoven’s 6th symphony and piano concerto no.3 in c-minor

Mozart’s Requiem

Respighi’s “Pines Of Rome: Pines Of Appian Way”

Holst’s “The Planets”

Orff’s “Carmina Burana”

Leonard Bernstein’s “Chichester Psalms”

Saint-Saëns “Danse Macabre”

Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” and “Night on Bald Mountain”

Barber’s Adagio

Albinoni’s oboe concerto no. 2 op. 9

This is just a partial list, of course, but it gives an idea of what I like. Thank you, in advance, for any replies or suggestions!

Replies (41)

July 12, 2007 at 11:14 PM · To Joel's classical recommendations I'd add:

- Mozart: Sonata for Piano and Violin in E Minor, K304

If you're a Respighi fan you might also like

- Church Windows

- Brazilian Impressions

- Ancient Airs and Dances

If you prefer more "meaty” chamber music, try Brahms' Piano Quintet. You might also like Shostakovich's quartets (the 8th is probably the most well known).