Your Real Life

June 6, 2007 at 01:26 AM · Hey everyone,

This is probably a pointless discussion topic, but I wanted to know what everyone did or fellback on when their musical aspirations failed or became tedious. Or what careers do you hold outside of your secret affair with the violin?

Did any of you find jobs where yo could mix music with another like or love?

Just interested in hearing responses.

Thanks

Replies (72)

June 6, 2007 at 01:35 AM · I work full-time as a project manager for a neuroscience research lab. I got a PhD in Neuroscience and then worked in the biotech industry for 7 years. For a while I thought that doing science was my real passion. But then I had two children, and that stopped seeming so clear. I still like science, doing it and writing about it, but it was around that time I felt that I needed something more in my life than just science. When my son (now 4) wasn't a baby anymore, I started playing viola again.

Many scientists (and doctors and researchers) are also musicians. I think they go well together. Someday I hope to audition for the Longwood Symphony Orchestra, which is largely composed of Boston-area medical and research professionals.

I just wanted to add after reading your post that I don't consider my scientific career a fallback, nor did my musical aspirations fail or become tedious. I'm happy to be an amateur musician and to make a living doing something else.

June 6, 2007 at 01:41 AM · You gotta be kiddin--this girl is a jealous hussy, and demands all my free time, my dedication, indeed--my left ear on full moons--and I love her.

Seriously though--I garden, take care of the folks, work a little when I want to, and am preparing to do my masters program.

June 6, 2007 at 01:48 AM · Greetings,