Violin Hickey

May 14, 2007 at 10:20 PM · I know that there are lots of different posts about violin hickeys. I have one but it doesn't hurt at all its just there and I was wondering if that would be from holding my violin wrong? Also does anyone know how to make it go away?

Replies (37)

May 14, 2007 at 11:25 PM · Hey Angela.

I have a horrible diagnosis for you. Want your violin hickey to go away? Give up the violin. Everyone has 'em...everyone. That telltale mark helps identify you as "in the club". :) At least, if it's on the left side of your neck, and not in multiple places :)

May 15, 2007 at 11:20 AM · No, everyone doesn't have one. I'm a very busy professional, playing for several decades without one. My advice: simply cover the chinrest with a clean, comfortable cloth. That should prevent re-occurrence, or worsening. Some people have more or less of a predisposition to develop an irritation. It's often the metal parts that are most irritating. There are one or two non-wood chinrests on the market that don't use (or maybe cover) them and advertise as hypo-allergenic. I can't remember the names, but Shar might carry them. You might want to try that if for some reason, you don't want to use the simple, inexpensive cover option.

As to what you have already, I'm not a doctor, and this is just advice from one layman to another. I would treat it like any other skin irritation, and with the chinrest cover, it should eventually go away.

May 15, 2007 at 12:08 AM · I had a nasty, infected one in college, but I was very tense and nervous and my equipment didn't fit me. Keeping both your skin and your chinrest clean helps. Check the fit of any rests you use. Sue

May 15, 2007 at 12:25 AM · there are a few possibilities...