Learning the vibrato

May 7, 2007 at 08:27 PM · hello, i am a violin student and a very impatient one. I learned a lot of bad technique when I was young and now we are picking them out with my teacher. But it is going very slow.

One of the problems is my finger vibrato. I use a lot of finger vibrato and almost no arm or wrist vibrato. We have started on exercises from Fischer's basics and my teacher also made me read Flesch's art of violin. When we are doing the exercises the arm and wrist vibrato seems to come out slowly, but very slowly. However, when I start playing (an etude or a piece) my finger vibrato comes back, as if I haven't learned anything on the arm and wrist vibrato.

My horrible finger vibrato is a subject of a lot of jokes in the family and at school. That is very depressing. I try to do my exercises regularly but still nothing has changed for the past month. Am I too stupid, or should one wait longer for a nice vibrato. Or maybe I am doing something else wrong, and I have to search for the problem somewhere else? like my elbow or wrist or so? Thanks in advance to everyone.

Replies (71)

May 7, 2007 at 10:51 PM · Greetings,

I think the exercises in Fischer are great. They should be, since they are a very comprehensive collection of just about all the great vibrato exercises used by anyone of note....