Returning to the violin after 7-year hiatus

April 30, 2007 at 04:05 PM · Hello. I am new to this site. The postings are super. It is incredible to see in print some of the very same struggles and questions I have had over the years. The support of this site is part of the positive energy I am feeling as I return to the fiddle after taking significant time away.

Background: I studied for about 10 years, ages 13-23. It was hard work, but I held my own in youth and college orchestras. While I could handle advanced orchestral repertoire, I was disappointed to not go beyond Bach in in my solo work. Playing ceased to be much fun within a few years of leaving college, even with a community orchestra and within about 10 years of leaving school I pretty much stopped playing altogether. However, I did take voice lessons and made good progress in a short time (with no small nod to the impact of all of my years of violin study!).

About a year ago I was motivated to return to playing, and have enjoyed the process of getting my violin ramped back up. I upgraded my bow, which has made playing much more enjoyable because I am not fighting against the lighter weight of the bow I had always used.

Now that I am older, it is easier for me to listen to myself now and stay focused and I am getting more pleasure now than I ever remember. Even better, my fingers remember where to go; I just need to regain strength and speed.

I need guidance on tuning and practicing. I can tune with open strings, but sometimes need a little help. Does anyone use an electronic keyboard when the tuning fork and your ear are just not jiving?