A Non-Musician Parent Asking Questions about their Young Violinist

April 13, 2007 at 08:35 PM · I'm new to this sight. I have two questions...We are parents of a seven year old son who is in Book Four of Suzuki. My questions are- How detrimental is playing baseball for a serious student, and how important is it to locate a children's orchestra for him to play in? His teacher is not happy about baseball, and we've moved away from the orchestra he once played in,and he misses it.

Replies (25)

April 13, 2007 at 08:37 PM · My son is six and plays the piano. He also plays football, basketball and soccer. (Not all at once, of course! But throughout the year) I think it would be quite detrimental for him NOT to play sports! Of course, he is still expected to practice the piano every day!

(and, yes, I'm a violin teacher, too :)

April 13, 2007 at 08:57 PM · Do you know why your teacher is upset about baseball? Potential for injury? I'm just curious.

April 13, 2007 at 09:07 PM · Go for the sports. A famous concert violinist friend used to have extensive wood working machines, saws, lathes, etc. in his basement. All music will make a dull kid, plus the exercise will be good for him.

April 13, 2007 at 09:20 PM · There's nothing like amateur sports or amateur music. One will never find the same joy as a professional in either. Your son might miss his orchestra, but he will also probably miss his baseball team too. Both are wonderful experiences when they are reasonably well run by coaches and teachers. If you (and he) can fit it into his schedule, do both!!