Concertos on a recital program?

April 7, 2007 at 05:15 PM · With the great wealth of sonatas and pieces for violin and piano, plus unaccompanied violin selections, there are enough recital selections for a life time. But what about the violin concerto literature? How many of you have programed a concerto, with piano accompaniment, occasionally into your recitals?

Replies (26)

April 7, 2007 at 05:20 PM · Not being a professional, I don't think I can give you the answer you're looking for. As an amateur and a student, however, I certainly have played the usual Vivaldi/Bach/Mozart concerti or movements with piano accompaniment.

There is a CD of a 1950 (or so) Library of Congress all-Paganini recital by Zino Francescatti in which the major piece is the complete 1st Concerto with piano accompaniment. It is rather spectacular, and the piano accompaniment makes it a decidedly different experience than the usual orchestra backup.

April 7, 2007 at 05:32 PM · I've played Wieniawski d minor Concerto on recital programs. There are some concertos that lose more than others from piano reduction. I would not be inclined to play Sibelius Concerto with piano accompaniment. The feeling of this piece seems to depend more on the orchestral timbres than do some other violin concertos. I enjoy hearing, or playing, a violin concerto on a recital program from time to time.

April 7, 2007 at 06:47 PM · I'm smiling right now because I was practicing the Sibelius last night, knowing that I will never get to play this with an orchestra, knowing that it would not be a good idea to play it at a recital, yet wishing that I could have the experience of sharing it with my students, friends, and the community.

April 7, 2007 at 07:39 PM · I have a wonderful recording of Milstein playing the Mendelssohn with piano; delightful!