Can this be turned into a profession?

April 2, 2007 at 03:46 PM · I have a question. What opportunities exist for a 37 year-old husband and father of two who has just recently discovered his love of the violin and joy in playing it? Currently, I work as an engineer, and have always felt as though I were a stranger in a strange land working this profession which has led to a "square peg in the round hole" sort of existence for me in my 8:00-5:00 life as an engineer. Even the strict 8:00-5:00 routine is not something I fall into naturally. I get by and manage to do alright, but I certainly do not love this line of work.

However, now I have begun violin lessons and find I am deeply in love with this instrument. And, my instructor also tells me that she has been amazed by how well I have done in such a short period of time. So, it appears as though I might have a knack for it as well. Most important to me however, is that it follows my heart. So, what can I as an adult and as one who supports a family do with this desire? With sincere effort can I honestly turn this into a profession some day? My goodness, such would be a blessing the likes of which one seldom encounters in life. I am one who belives in the impossible, and have always been the eternal optimist. But, for those of you who know more of this line of work, what can I realistically expect?

Thank you,

Chris

Replies (100)

April 2, 2007 at 03:49 PM · There have been previous threads on this. Please consult them. The bottom line is that with a great deal of work, you may be able to support yourself in some fashion by the violin. However, this will not be easy, and you are highly unlikely to be able to support your family by becoming an international superstar or member of a top-tier orchestra. The previous threads will give you some sense of individual experiences. Do not give up your day job yet.