Peace of Mind and Soul by Becoming a Musician

March 13, 2007 at 04:24 AM · An ill-prepared surgeon kills the patients, an ill-prepared pilot kills the passengers (and hopefully him/her/self) and ill-prepared parent raises Hitler or some creepy US president and so on. An ill-prepared musician kills just time (sometimes a work by a dead or living composer). So what risks does a musician take?

Replies (30)

March 13, 2007 at 04:26 AM · i am no musician, but any time you guys play in front of a crowd, go on stage, under the flood light, with eyes fixing on you in the dark expecting perfection,,,,pretty big risk taking to me:) no one can really help you out there.

look at a doctor, always a team around to help out if needed. as long as you keep the vital signs going,,,getting the job done well is really nothing compare to the scrutiny musicians get.

sure pilots have lots of lives in their hands. i submit that these days, flying a modern plane is probably not that nerve wrecking, unless you steer a jumbo on manual.

challenges facing a parent or gw? now we are talking:)

March 13, 2007 at 06:15 AM · What kind of music are we talking about? Where is the performance? Who are the audiance? How ill-prepared it is? Why not well-prepared? Also, it depends on what you mean by 'kill' and 'risk'...

Idle thoughts.

March 13, 2007 at 07:15 AM · Well, I think a musician takes a lot of personal risk, because they often spend so much developing their craft, then working on a given piece that they develop a strong emotional bond with. In effect, what they are playing becomes a part of themself, and whenever they play for others and it is not well received, naturally even the kindest critism sounds like; "You're a bad person". So, I'd say the biggest risk (besides the obvious economic, career, and stress related risks), is one of emotional fulfillment and really, a great deal of vulnerability.