Samuel Applebaum

February 23, 2007 at 07:06 PM · does anybody know about Samuel Applebaum? he wrote the series of book The Way they play and seems to me like an interesting character. He also taught a younger Erick Friedman.....

Replies (45)

February 24, 2007 at 01:21 AM · This gentleman was Michael Tree's father. He was a noted and enthusiastic teacher of the violin.

February 24, 2007 at 06:54 AM · Samuel Applebaum also wrote a violin tutor called Stringbuilders and has producerd many chamber volumes in different combinations for young students all of which give a wealth of material.

February 24, 2007 at 08:03 AM · Greetings,

he wrote an excellent book on violin technique called `TheArt and Science of Violin playing.` it is a superb colelction of ideas with the odd bit of loopyness sthrown in,

Cheers,

Buri

February 24, 2007 at 12:38 PM · I started playing the violin in the early 60s and Applebaum method books (published by Belwin?) were ubiquitous. I found his book With the Artists in a college library when I was a teenager and I was hooked on the violin world. I imagined myself a future Heifetz. Then, in my early 20s I was a property manager at an ASTA convention where he was the clinician. He played very well and gave master classes even in the top repertory. I arranged for a private lesson. I played miserably but he was very kind.

My teacher recalls that he had a wonderful bow arm.

February 25, 2007 at 02:10 AM · Used his StringBuilder books for years and years, even after the advent of the newer glitzier methods with all the pictures and infantile side-bars...They're no-nonsense, logical and They Work. Mr. Applebaum made Mischa Mischakoff appear tall !!!

April 14, 2007 at 11:17 PM · He recorded an interesting LP: "How to Develop a Beautiful Tone"

(planning to record to computer when I get the ground loop out of my turntable) ...