What's your orchestra's repertoire?

February 9, 2007 at 06:39 AM · So, what are you playing currently in your orchestra? What's the program for the next concert?.. The year?

This year, Sydney Youth Orchestra is playing:

March Concert: Westlake Percussion Concerto, Mozart Magic Flute Overture, Stravinsky Firebird Suite (1919) and Beethoven Symphony 3.

June: Dvorak Carnical Overture, Shostakovich Symphony No 12

September: Hindemith Symphonic Metamorphosis, Brahms Symphony 3

December: Mahler Symphony 5, and a Concerto from the concerto competition winner.

I'm really happy I got moved into desk 4 of first violins from concertmaster of the orchestra below last year. YAY.

So - tell me your orchestra's repertoire!

Replies (49)

February 9, 2007 at 11:09 AM · Hi,

I am a professional so the list is really long. However, that said, you must be in a very good youth orchestra. That's a pretty impressive list of stuff and some pretty tough programs!

Cheers!

February 10, 2007 at 11:43 PM · I'm really happy with our repertoire though - the Artistic Director told us they chose these pieces to give us exposure to some of the standard/expected repertoire for those of us who want to continue on as professional orchestral musicians, which I think is a great idea rather than giving ensembles dumbed down versions of pieces, or more "simple" works.

If you guys all have a huge repertoire, how about just for the upcoming concert?

Em

February 11, 2007 at 12:12 AM · Greetings,

never let Albert play ther Carnical Overture. Too close to the knuckle.

Next few weeks:

1) 1812 and Itlaian Opera.

2)Dvorak New World

3) Borodin 2

Haydn London Symphony.

The Impressario. Rosamunde.

Mahler 5. Mozart cocnerto 3.

Dvorak 8. Beethoven 9.

Kind of ordinary I suppose....:

Cheer,s

Buri