How long until you weren't bad?

February 9, 2007 at 06:38 AM · How many years of practice?

Replies (42)

February 9, 2007 at 07:46 AM · Oh I don't know--a couple days maybe. Surely, no more than a week.... Violin is easy.... (ducks).

February 9, 2007 at 10:25 AM · I studied for five or less years total on viola without starting on violin.

I sucked hard at the beginning. No control, but familiarized myself by playing through the Bach's 6 Sonatas and Partitas and sightreading a lot at first, then just memorizing and playing for fun. It helped to get my mind off sucking. But I guess now I see that that in itself indicated how much raw talent I had even at the beginning.

So, I started with Kreutzer Etudes with John Hayhurst. U know, detache, marcato, upbow/downbow staccato, finger positions, Teleman concerto. That's it, took 1 year.

Then I went on to Jerry Epstein. We didn't finish all of Kreutzer, maybe half, then we went to Campagnoli cause he knew them well. I did 1/3rd of those, which were more like character pieces with random in and out techniques. That was ongoing. But repertoire was where it was at; we did Brahms f minor then later E flat, Bruch Romanze, Bach Suites 2, 3, 5, Hindemith Op. 14, Op.25,1, Shostakovich Sonata, Walton Concerto, Vitali Chaconne,some shorter pieces, easier sonatas. That took 3 years.

I say 5 because I also went to Summer festivals and notably studied with Evan Wilson who corrected some technical problems - it was more like a boot camp; scales class, lessons where I was put under a lot of pressure - criticism and learning how to play by observing other players and going to masterclasses.