Autographed Violin

January 14, 2007 at 06:06 AM · I have been playing violin for almost 6 months and I absolutley love it. Recently I had the opportunity to go see Hilary Hahn in concert and afterwards I asked her to sign my violin which she did. It is a Franz Hoffman Maestro and was originally purchased for $230.00. What would ya'll experienced violinists be willing to pay for such a violin? (not that I'm sure I'd ever want to sell it!) Ms. Hahn signed the back and her signature is beautiful. Thanks!

Replies (26)

January 14, 2007 at 12:18 AM · Sorry, I was in a hurry to finish that post because dinner was ready. I also meant to ask if having someone sign my instrument even increased the value or does it make it go down? Or is my violin so cheap that nothing short of breaking it will decrease the value? Again Thanks!

January 14, 2007 at 06:46 AM · uh, if like 10 masterclasses with Hahn are involved, a LOT. ;).

January 14, 2007 at 06:54 AM · I am perplexed that she agreed to sign the back of your violin (or A VIOLIN for that matter).

But since you asked for it and it wasn't a Strad, I guess she felt OK about.

Normally, we don't go around signing instruments, it is "kind of sacriligious".

I would venture to say that the fiddle is worth whatever people will pay for her autograph, no more than that.

It is a very different issue in the Rock n'Roll scene or Jazz scene etc. and valuable instruments especially the ones signed by celebrity musicians.

January 14, 2007 at 07:14 AM · It's worth more than her signature without the violin, or the violin without her signature. It's worth less than her signature on a check, or her fingernails in your back.

January 14, 2007 at 10:32 AM · It's probably worth less than what you paid for the violin.

Who in their right mind would buy a scratched up student violin? There is little to no market for violin memorabilia that I know of, like there are for baseball cards.