Carbon Fiber Bows

January 10, 2007 at 02:44 AM · Hello, all:

My violin teacher suggested that I obtain a spare violin bow since I only have one. Because I am a college student with no money or time to go bow shopping, he suggested that I buy a carbon fiber bow, as many of them are cheap(er than a really high caliber wood bow) and will serve me well. Looking at the Sharmusic website, I am inundated by the huge number of carbon fiber bows that are out there. How in the world do I decide which one to buy? I just need a spare bow, so it's not like it will be my primary bow. But I do want it to be somewhat similar to my wood bow (60g, round stick, etc.). Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Replies (70)

January 10, 2007 at 03:10 AM · I realize money and time are lacking, but there is no substitute for trying out a bunch of bows at your local luthier and picking the one that seems to work best. You can get one that in the abstract seems perfect but may not sound well with your violin, may not be as responsive as you wish, may not be balanced the way you want, etc. You have to take a morning and try some. Otherwise, you are likely to be frustrated. Sorry I cannot be more helpful, but any other advice you receive, while well-meaning, will ultimately probably frustrate you more than help you (the only real alternative is to keep ordering bows from a place like Shar for a trial period and hope you quickly find a suitable one). Good luck!

January 10, 2007 at 03:12 AM · Greetings,

I second Tom`s comments. People often don@t realize that carbon fibre bows are extremely variable within a single brand and unles s you are willing to try a batch you might pick up the one you don@t like and regret the money spent when a litlt emor etime would have got you soemthing much better suited to you,

Cheers,

buri

January 10, 2007 at 04:34 AM · Julie,

CF bows vary quite a lot.

The price range is also wide:

from around a $100 - $2000