Ossy Renardy Redux

December 21, 2006 at 09:05 PM · I suppose this should be called Ossy renardy redux. Im do remember one of our members calling him a flash in the pan or some sort of romantic icon because of his young death. I have to personally wonder if the person ever heard his recordings. To my way of listening this is a formidable fiddle talent--anyone who can play Ernst or Paganini that way and who was virtually self-taught needs to be paid attention. I might not want to hear his Beethoven--I don't know it--but I don't like Ricci's Beethoven and Renardy's playing is certainly less frenetic. Everyone has their own strong suits. Meanwhile I'm throwing this out for discussion--what contitutes a creditable violinist--chops or the snootiness factor?

Replies (12)

December 21, 2006 at 09:31 PM · From another thread regarding Renardy, I'd say we've got more vocal fans than the opposite.

I enjoy his recordings, and am in awe to know that he was a self-taught. Like Rabin, unfortunately, he died too young.

December 21, 2006 at 09:50 PM · What do you mean by the "snootiness factor"?

December 22, 2006 at 08:24 AM · The snootiness factor refers to considering only those who play the "great' literature as worthy of respect and that those who like Ricci played bravura literature are somehow less than those who play Beethoven or Bach and the like.

December 22, 2006 at 03:29 PM · Maybe some people just *prefer* Bach, Beethoven and Brahms to Wieniawski, Paganini and Hubay, no snootiness involved.

December 23, 2006 at 11:58 PM · This reminds me of something I read in cd notes written by Tully Potter for a compilation of early 20th C solo violin recordings -- that many famous players were unique because they had been mostly self-taught.