One piece vs two piece back?

December 19, 2006 at 09:12 PM · Which adds the most value or esthetic appeal to a violin back, one or two piece construction? Two piece backs seem to be in the majority, buy why? Does it have anything to do with finding maple blanks that are wide enough for a single piece, or is it something more? I'm really curious!

Replies (34)

December 19, 2006 at 11:49 PM · I think one piece backs are more "beautiful", if you may. I'm no instrument expert, but I think that a piece of wood that would work to make a one piece back is harder to find/more expensive.

I also recall hearing from a violin dealer that 1-piece backs tend to increase the value of a violin.

December 20, 2006 at 12:28 AM · I always thought that one pice backs were standard a hundred or so years ago, so that helps determine the age of the instrument. But I don't remember where I heard that from, so it is probably not true. Or made up....

Mine has a one-piece back. I would think the absense of an extra seam down the whole length of an instrument might not let the violin vibrate at optimum capacity.

Just a thought, though.

Jennifer

December 20, 2006 at 02:46 AM · I have been told that there was no difference in tonal quality between 1 or 2 PC back. But most poeple including myself prefers 1 PC back, which pushes the price higher for 1 PC.

December 20, 2006 at 01:32 AM · I am prob one of the few violinists that actually prefers a 2 piece back. I just find them more appealing.

December 20, 2006 at 06:33 AM · Everything I have read (no personal experience) says that a violin with a one-piece back, all else being the same, will have more body or be warmer than one with a two-piece back. That makes some sense, since there would be more vibration. That could be a bad thing as well as good, since that vibration could also comb-filter, or absorb some high frequencies.

I imagine it's a balancing act, as with so many other mechanical variables.