What is Talent?

December 19, 2006 at 09:12 PM · I'm curious to hear what others have to say are the characteristics that a person needs to have to become a good violinist. Let's say you start with a total beginner who knows nothing about how to read music. Let's say you are in a room of 5 year olds who want to become violinists.

Who do you think has the best potential to become a good violinist?

Who would you like to teach, to what end, and why?

Replies (46)

December 19, 2006 at 09:13 PM · They all do. But some will not have the inclination.

Still, you can work on many things musical and motivational: chanting words, clapping rhythms, singing songs with words, singing songs without words (this helps with pitch because they don't have to worry about words), dancing so they feel music in their entire little bodies, listening, listening, listening. Fill their environment with music.

December 19, 2006 at 11:57 PM · Is it perfect pitch, athletic ability, hand-eye coordination, capacity for hard work, how articulate one is, ability to sell oneself, etc? What do you think?

My teacher has told me I am extremely talented. I don't have perfect pitch, athletic ability, hand-eye coordination, capacity for hardwork, or anything like that. I think true talent is born. I honestly don't think I am talented at all, but I feel the really talented ones are those who have a passion for what they do. One has to enjoy the music first, the rest is just technical jumble that anyone can get with enough work.

December 20, 2006 at 03:28 AM · will be tough to get a consensus on this but here is my take.

i will break down kids into 4 groups in terms of potential. (never know how to define talent)

below average, average, good, superior. remember that Trading Places movie where environment supposedly played a big role? well, i believe that, but for violin, there is also an equally important part from within. much more than being a catwalk supermodel