How can I move forward?

December 16, 2006 at 06:48 PM · Hi.I am an adult beginner, and have been playing now for about 8 years and loving it. I progressed almost to the end of Suzuki Book 5. I think the thing I learned the most last year, after countless scales in all keys was to listen to myself!

I try and practice between 30 minutes and an hour a day..not much time, but all I can afford right now. I also am not currently taking lessons, but desperately want to improve my skills. My goal is to one day work at playing the Bach sonatas and Partitas.

How can I best go about achieving this goal? I currently do some Kreutzer (#2, 3, 4 and 7), scales every day, bowing exercises and then play. When I play, I am mainly Scottish Fiddling, but that is not my only interest in the violin.

I would also like to play with teh community orchestra one day.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I just don't know whether I should finish the Suzuki books as best as I can or do something different. I realize tha some lessons would be the best, but that is not currently an option.

Replies (31)

December 16, 2006 at 07:40 PM · With eight years and Suzuki 5 in the mix, I hope you are getting out there and playing with others is one thing I see--but I'm guessing/hoping you already are.

Also, consider searching for more advancing song books that have CD accompaniements if you are in a rural situation or something.

This will sound a little weird, but think deeply about, and feel yourself achieving your goals.

December 16, 2006 at 09:13 PM · Since you know what you want to play, go ahead and do it! Not all the movements in the Bach S/P are equal, so choose one that would be fun and moderately challenging to get a start on your project. Since you've already played both parts of the Bach Double, maybe the last movements of the g minor sonata or C Major sonata?

December 16, 2006 at 10:23 PM · Greetings,