Balancing Act

November 29, 2006 at 02:50 AM · I'm 23, 1.5 years out of school, and facing a quarter life crisis!!! (or so it seems) A little background before everything:

~I started violin in the 4th grade (when it was offered in school)

~Once in high school, I was super involved in everything - youth orchestras, regular orchestras, pit orchestras, varsity swimming, you name it.

~Went to school for 4 years, majored in music ed.

NOW, I'm a music teacher in my second year, teaching what I love. I just have so many things I'd like to do, but want to balance it all and have a life. Here's what I'd LIKE to do, in the present, ideally:

~Work a full work day - til about 4 daily

~Train for a marathon

~Practice my violin (it's been about 2 years since I've actually played - any suggestion on Grade 5 pieces?)

~And on top of it - spend time with my new hubby (which I want to do!). I don't want to put him on the back burner.

~Get enough sleep! I simply do not function without at least 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep.

I need advice on how one might suggest to balance this without burning out or going insane. Also, in order to effectively progress and not remain static in my playing, how many hours would you suggest to practice daily with my life? Has anyone else every faced this point in their lives?

Replies (24)

November 29, 2006 at 04:29 AM · You are just a young puppy! Alas, the balancing act never stops! Here are my last 2 days back from Thanksgiving: (Husband, also a violinist, is out of state, closing on the sale of our house).