Unlearning bad habits

November 29, 2006 at 02:50 AM · I am a second year teacher currently teaching 7- and 8-year-olds in a public school setting (I see them in groups of 2-5 at a time). I have about 120 students, many who have not started with me. I need advice on "unlearning" several things:

~A good bow hold - focus on thumb NOT curving inwards

~Collapsed wrist in left hand

~Curved fingers on string (not flat)

~Supporting the instrument while playing

I have been able to help about 85% of the kids unlearn bad habits, but some kids simply do not change, or care to at that. If anything, I want to avoid any future injury! Any and all advice is much appreciated.

Replies (20)

November 29, 2006 at 04:18 AM · Greetings,

you might find some good ideas in `Playing the String Game,` by Phyllis Young.

Cheer,s

Buri

November 29, 2006 at 04:49 AM · First, your post helped me--I just left it up on the screen as I practiced. Matter of fact, it's going into a page I can use daily... Thanks..

Next, 85% seems pretty good success to me. So I think you deserve a pat on the back to begin with.

But, trying to get at that 15%, hmm. I think I wouldn't think of it in that case so much as unlearning bad habits, as learning 'new' habits.

Can you somehow challenge those without embarassing them to make it fun in getting on board? Even then, I can't imagine getting 100%.

Also, pairing up the good habit person with the one struggling might help too, in a tutor type environment.

And maybe at a minimum, emphasize to them in the process of trying to reach them, what the good habits are... All my teachers and coaches (including Sir Buri), taught me things that still come back to me in a pinch... Maybe you won't be able to see them progress, but down the road, they might remember...

al

November 29, 2006 at 04:45 AM · I thought we`d agreed on Madam Buri?

November 29, 2006 at 04:48 AM · uh, that was Vivian mamm.. ;)