Youth Orchestras: A Political minefield?!

November 27, 2006 at 05:52 AM · This year is my second year leading a local youth orchestra, where although the conductor is profesional, and there is a tutor for each section, all the players are under 18.

Yesterday I was speaking with a friend who plays in the orchestra, and he told me that "X", a member of my section, doesn't "enjoy orchestra" because she doesn't like the way I behave as leader. Specifically, she doesn't like it when I make comments or suggestions as to how to do a bowing or fingering. She says it makes her "cringe" when I make suggestions because she thinks I have no right as I am not a profesional musician. I obviously looked a bit shocked at this because he backpedalled a bit and said that everyone else found it helpful, but it hasnt stopped me feeling paranoid.

I dont make many suggestions, and i dont enjoy doing it either, but when something is going consistently wrong and i know there is a simple solution i feel that i have to. When I play in other orchestras im grateful when the first desk lend a hand in making life easier for us to play something as a section, proffesional or no.

Next rehearsal I will appproach the conductor to check that i havent been behaving innapropriately, but i still feel that my confidence as leader has been undermined, and I dont like section politics when it creates a bad atmosphere!

What is the advice from tutours/young players/orchestral musicians on this site? Should I keep trying to solve problems, or just shut up and let them pass?

Do you think that the leader's job as a medium between conductor and section is different when the conductor is a proffesional and the section are kids? Help!

Replies (15)

November 27, 2006 at 06:31 AM · Hi Ella,