Arm-shoulder joint pain

November 27, 2006 at 05:52 AM · I am an adult beginner, and this is my second semester with a summer vaction off in between. My teacher is very gong hong about music and teaching, and she wanted me to read/play a lot of music...So I have to practice quite a bit to keep up. I have been playing Bach Minuet 1 (Suzuki Book 1 #13), and found myself suffering from arm-should joint pain. The pain seems to abate a bit if I stop playing and rest a little bit. I am a small person, but like to use a full size violin anyway, which means I have problems with low second finger position in relation to the third and fourth fingers, and I also have to move my elbow toward the center of my torso.

I wonder if my pain is normal because of the contorsion-like movement from my left hand or I simply have been practicing the wrong way. I use a shoulder rest and guarneri style chinrest.

I'd really appreciate if anyone can get out of the pain...

Replies (23)

November 27, 2006 at 06:11 AM · Greetings,

it is well worth getting a small full size violin. They exist and can make alot of differnece to player sof your stature.

First and foremost one should consider warming up and stretching. To preced an activity without warming up is foolish. To stretch without warming up is actually dangerous. It can reduce flexinbilty and cause injury. The purpose of warming up is to get bllood into the extremities.

Where do you hold the violin when you put it up? It is a good idea to have the hand in fourth position not first. The reaosn is that if it is in first you are throwing a much longer objectat your face which trigger the startle reflex. It is also worth pesevereing with the idea of `throwing the violin up` rapidly. Slow is harder and may trigger exces smuscle use.