Researching instrument: Edward Garber?

November 25, 2006 at 04:55 PM · I am a beginning violin student, and have on loan, an instrument made by Edward Garber, Bellwood, PA 2002. I love the tone of the instrument, and its responsiveness (both my teacher and the shop owner commented on how playable it is), but I can find nothing -- not one mention -- of this instrument maker on the entire internet.

The shop owner is asking $2000 for this violin, but claims it's a custom instrument worth $3500. Is buying an instrument made by an unrecognizable name a good investment? Has anyone ever heard of this maker?

With thanks,

Sarah

Replies (5)

November 26, 2006 at 01:54 PM · Might be worth a phone call...

Google search results:

Phonebook results for garber bellwood, pa

E M Garber (814) 742-7564

N Tuckahoe, Bellwood, PA 16617

However... if you can't find the person... but you love the instrument, tone, playability... and it's the very best for the $... then I would probably buy it. Best wishes.

November 26, 2006 at 06:41 PM · Thank you, Katie. You are a better detective than I. I couldn't even find a phone listing, but you apparently did.

I brought the instrument to a luthier for an estimate of its value. He told me that it's made of American maple and American red spruce, and that American woods are not as durable or tonally superior as European woods, and therefore, that it would probably never go up much in value as a result. Anyone have an opionion on that?

Thanks again,

Sarah

November 26, 2006 at 10:18 PM · I question the evaluation of American hardwoods. There are many ecosystems in America to begin with where spruce and maple grow. And to suggest that anyone has done this type of research is mind boggling.

Romantically, I would be inclined to purchase a European violin, but that's my Xanadu.