Davide Sora

November 9, 2006 at 04:09 AM · Hello,

does anyone of you know some things about the Italian luthier Davide Sora? I play on one of his violas now and would like to have some more information about the man and about his instruments (pricing, quality of the sound in general, influences,...).

Greetings,

Saïdjah

Replies (23)

October 22, 2016 at 09:18 AM · Hello everyone, this is my first time on this forum, so first of all I would like to to greet everyone.

Browsing the web I found this old post asking information about me.

Saidjah, are you still here?

I would be interested to know more about your viola, to be able to update my archive and maybe get very useful information for me about how she behaved over the years.

If you could send me some pictures to allow me identify it I would be very grateful.

However, if you have not already done so in all these years past, you can find some information about me and my work on my websites :

www.davidesora.it

www.davidesora.altervista.org

Ciao

Davide

October 22, 2016 at 10:20 AM · Glad to see you here Mr. Sora. Love your videos on YouTube, especially the one that shows you carving a scroll.

October 22, 2016 at 10:35 AM · Hello Jeff, nice to meet you even on this site, thank you for your appreciation of my videos

October 22, 2016 at 02:34 PM · I was just about to post that I had heard about Davide Sora when, behold, the man himself posted.

After one of those Italian "Triennale" exhibitions (2000, 2003 ??) I asked a Cremona maker I know who was the Italian maker with the highest ranking and the reply was .... "Davide Sora".

Might have asked Davide for a price a few years ago. I think his 2010 workshop price for a violin was €15k. Retail price at a dealership would need to be higher. But I didn't follow up - I own enough violins now from Cremona ....!