Studying music theory

November 8, 2006 at 01:58 AM · I'd be interested in any advice about studying theory along side playing. I have been playing for 3 years and, at my teachers advice, recently started studying music theory and am currently about grade 2 level.

My ambition in music is to play as well as I can for family/friends and hopefully some chamber music for fun. Do others think studying theory is appropriate for me or should I focus on the playing? I have to say I'm not really enjoying it but my teacher seems keen!

thank you

Replies (20)

November 8, 2006 at 02:04 AM · For your purposes it might be more useful to study counterpoint, but basic theory is a prerequisite for that. Sorry it's not fun. Probably the teacher's fault.

November 8, 2006 at 02:28 AM · It's not fun, but it's good for you. Like vitamins.

November 8, 2006 at 02:31 AM · Theory is always fun! Yeah, the raw fundamentals can be a bit dry, but once you get past that, it just totally opens up the world of music to your ears... literally...

November 8, 2006 at 03:24 AM · I love theory! I was awful at it at first in college because I didn't have any theory in high school. Once you get the hang of it you'll like it.

November 8, 2006 at 04:45 AM · Whatever the fault, it's always the teacher's. Blame the teacher. Theory should be as fun as eating birthday cake and mint chocolate chip ice cream. It should be as effortless for you as a good nose picking, and as retainable as a cute girl's phone number.

November 8, 2006 at 04:50 AM · Hi John. I think theory becomes more interesting when it is reintegrated into your playing. Often students learn theory to pass tests. In this way theory remains in the realm of numbers, fractions, and mnemonic devices. I'm not sure if it will ever be fun, but I think that's missing the point. The deeper the understanding we have, the more rewarding the experience becomes.

a) Discover the living theory in the pieces you're working on.