Child's motivation/rivalry crisis?

November 6, 2006 at 06:29 AM · Help! Advice needed! A few months ago I started learning violin as an adult beginner (had 1 year of lessons as a child). Middle son (8) got inspired and nagged constantly for a violin. He began lessons enthusiastically, was keen to practice. His older sister (11) then got inspired, and 'taught' some basics by her brother got on quickly once her actual lessons started. Here the problems began. Middle son has cute baby brother who gets lots of attention. His chance to shine was now gone. Sister is getting on rather well, perhaps (due to age?) better than him. He can't 'show off' his skills any more. Mum can do more, and he's not better than older sister (he only had one or two lessons before she too, started.

Now he's totally unmotivated. If he does pick up the violin he does the bare minimum he can get away with. It's sad, because he was making progress. What would others suggest? Continue to encourage him so he doesn't give up too easily (like treading treacle) or suggest another instrument that no-one else plays so he can 'shine' in this one thing? Maybe the teachers or psychologists (Sander???) can suggest something.

I'm at a loss to know what to do.

Bernadette

Replies (5)

November 6, 2006 at 06:56 AM · Greetings,