To 'tique or not to 'tique? That is the question!

October 25, 2006 at 04:43 AM · Whether 'tis nobler to stay with that which wast - or to take arms (keys, etc.) againts a sea of varnish, and by opposing, end that newness!

OK - enough of my cutsie psudo-Shakespeare! At least since the 19th century some makers have made new violins look old with varying degrees of success. Today some makers only make fresh work, some only antiqued, and some both. So, friends, Romans and countrymen (-there I go again!-) what is YOUR preference?

Replies (88)

October 25, 2006 at 09:09 AM · New-looking, but if I was a concertizing pro I'd want antiqued and I'd tell everybody it was the Baron Le Chrysler Stradivarius.

October 25, 2006 at 12:19 PM · I like your pseudo-Shakespeare!

The Strads with the highest estimated value look almost new.

Here's a picture of the Messiah Strad, which would probably set an all-time record if ever sold.

Messiah Strad

As a rule, historical instruments with the least wear are most highly valued by connoisseurs, all other things being equal.

Just food for thought.

http://www.burgessviolins.com

October 25, 2006 at 02:13 PM · My preference depends on the maker (for example, I think David Burgess' instruments are beautiful just as they are... I like Frank Ravitan's rather artistic approach to patina, and there are a several makers who make "copies" that I find very fine... etc. On the other hand, there are makers who's distressing I find forced or tacky... and some who I think may use it to cover less than careful work...). BTW: I find a bad antiquing job on an instrument as ugly as a bad "straight" varnish job...