Isidor Saslav
Status: Member
Member Since: December 27, 2010
Last Visit:December 27, 2010

Isidor Saslav

After studies with master teachers Mischa Mischakoff, Josef Gingold, and Ivan Galamian Dr. Isidor Saslav became the concertmaster of and soloist with the Buffalo Philharmonic and the Minnesota, Baltimore, and New Zealand Symphony Orchestras and the orchestra of the Round Top Festival in Texas which he helped to found with conductor Leon Fleisher in 1975. Dr. Saslav has also served as concertmaster of the Indiana University, Dallas, Kennedy Center Terrace Theater, and Baltimore Opera Orchestras and has been a member of the Detroit Symphony, the Chautauqua Symphony, and the Orchestra of the Festival Casals (Puerto Rico). In addition to serving as a co-editor for the Henle Edition (12 Haydn Quartets) Dr. Saslav created a modern performance edition of Mozart's 6th Concerto with Lukas Foss; as soloist gave the Minnesota Orchestra premiere of Wieniawski's F# Minor Concerto; with Ann Saslav commissioned and gave the world premiere performance of Elie Siegmeister's "An Entertainment in Four Movements for Violin, Piano and Orchestra" with Sergiu Comissiona conducting; is among the few violinists in the world to have performed as soloist (with the Baltimore Symphony) all three of Bruch's concertos for violin and orchestra; and performed as soloist in Dallas the original 1844 manuscript version of the Mendelssohn Concerto No. 2 in E Minor Op. 64, one of the few violinists in the world to have performed this version. Was head of strings at Stephen F. Austin University in Nacogdoches TX 1993-2003.