Printer-friendly version
Pauline Lerner

Free Downloads of the Concertgebouw!

March 20, 2009 at 5:51 AM

Sometimes it takes Americans, at least me, some time to catch up with the Europeans, in this case, the Dutch. I recently got an email in a language I didn't understand, although I recognized it as Dutch. Google translator refused to translate it for me, so I looked for words that I could understand. When I saw "Concertgebouworkest" and "Bernard Haitink," I knew this had to be good, and I clicked on one of the links. I kept following links until I got to, which Google translated for me. I learned that radio4 is the Dutch classical music channel, which has webradio, podcasts, news briefs, and free downloads. I saw "Bernard Haitink 80 jaar, Nu GRATIS downloads...", so I eagerly followed that link. On the next page, I saw English near the right top of the screen, and when I clicked on it, the page was translated into English. I found that I could download three works conducted by Haitink for free: Bizet's Symphony in C Major, Schumann's Symphony #1, and Beethoven's Symphony #3, the Eroica. Then I followed the link to "MORE FREE KCO DOWNLOADS." (KCO translates to "Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.") I followed that link and found ten symphonies performed by the Concertgebouw and directed by various people other than Haitink. I had trouble downloading the recordings, so I emailed to the technical staff at radio4, and they gave me a lot of help. Now I have 13 beautiful recordings of the Concertgebouw, three directed by Bernard Haitink, on my computer, and I got them all for free.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Virtual Sejong Music Competition
Virtual Sejong Music Competition Business Directory Business Directory

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases


Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Metzler Violin Shop

Leatherwood Bespoke Rosin



Johnson String Instrument and Carriage House Violins

Potter Violins

String Masters

Bein & Company

Annapolis Bows & Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine