Livestream: Watch Violinist Aisslinn Nosky Perform Baroque Favorites

April 25, 2021, 4:28 PM · Watch below: one of today's finest Baroque violinists, Aisslinn Nosky, performs works by Handel, Vivaldi, Bach, Corelli, Telemann and Schmeltzer, in collaboration with viola de gamba player Arnie Tanimoto and harpsichordist Robert Warner. A note to Suzuki violin students: the program begins with Handel's Sonata No. 4 in D Major, which can also be found as the fifth piece in Suzuki Book 6; and it ends with Corelli's Variations on "Follia" Op. 5 No. 12, a wonderfully different angle for Suzuki students on another Book 6 favorite, "La Folia." This is an exciting opportunity to hear these pieces done in the Baroque style, accompanied by harpsichord and continuo and with Aisslyn's tasteful and informed decorations, played with a Baroque bow and violin with gut strings.

A unique and dynamic violinist, Canadian-born Aisslinn Nosky's fierce passion for early music and her skill as a soloist, director, and conductor has generated robust appreciation by press and audiences alike. She has been called “superb” by The New York Times and “a fearsomely powerful musician” by The Toronto Star. In addition to her role as Concertmaster of the Handel and Haydn Society of Boston, Aisslinn has also collaborated with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Holland Baroque and many more. Aisslinn is the first violinist of the Eybler Quartet, who explore repertoire from the early quartet literature on period instruments.


Violin Sonata HWV 371 (George Frideric Handel 1685-1759)
I Afetuoso
II Allegro
III Larghetto
IV Allegro

Violin Sonata Op. 2 No. 3 (Antonio Vivaldi 1678-1741)
I Preludio Andante
II Corrente Allegro
III Adagio
IV Giga Allegro

Fantasia for solo violin in Eflat major (Georg Philipp Telemann 1681-1767)
I Dolce
II Allegro
III Largo
IV Presto

Sonata Quarta (Johann Heinrich Schmelzer c.1620-1680)

Violin Sonata BWV 1021 (Johann Sebastian Bach 1685-1750)
I Adagio
II Vivace
III Largo
IV Presto

Variations on “Follia” Op. 5 No. 12 (Arcangelo Corelli 1653-1713)

* * *

The concert, which took place on Saturday and will remain online until May 1, is part of the Atterbury House Sessions concert series, curated by Lara St John and celebrating the 150th anniversary of New York’s iconic Atterbury House. Three more concerts remain in her series: the Brentano Quartet on May 8; violinist Augustin Hadelich on May 15; and violinist Lara St. John herself on June 5.

You might also like:

We wanted you to read this article before we make our newsletter pitch, unlike so many other websites. If you appreciate that — and our efforts to promote excellence in string playing, teaching, performance and community — please click here to sign up for our free, bi-weekly email newsletter. And if you've already signed up, please invite your friends! Thank you.


April 26, 2021 at 09:29 AM · Great concert, thanks for the tip!

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

JR Judd Violins
JR Judd Violins

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases Shopping Guide Shopping Guide

Metzler Violin Shop

Southwest Strings

Bobelock Cases

Johnson String Instrument/Carriage House Violins

Jargar Strings

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop


Los Angeles Violin Shop


String Masters

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine