Watch Gilharmonic on Violinist.com, Ep. 7, with Gil Shaham and Stuart Duncan

July 24, 2020, 4:14 PM · Please join violinist Gil Shaham and V.com editor Laurie Niles on Sunday for Episode 7 of our Youtube Live show, "Gilharmonic on Violinist.com" -- the happiest hour of live violin talk online! You can watch it by clicking below or going straight to Youtube. Please subscribe to our Youtube channel while you're there. The show will air at 11 a.m. Pacific, noon Mountain, 1 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Eastern and 7 p.m. in London.


Our guests this week include:

Stuart Duncan is a Grammy-winning American bluegrass musician who plays not only the fiddle but also mandolin, guitar, and banjo - and he sings vocals. He has performed with Diana Krall, George Strait, Dolly Parton, Guy Clark, Reba McEntire, and Barbra Streisand, among many others. A longtime member of the Nashville Bluegrass Band, he most recently collaborated with Yo-Yo Ma, Chris Thile and Edgar Meyer for album called Not Our First Goat Rodeo, a followup to their 2011 Goat Rodeo Sessions. Stuart will play "The New Democracy," which can also be heard on the Nashville Bluegrass Band’s 1991 album Home of the Blues.

Kaylah Walker, 14, is from Virginia Beach, Virginia, a violinist whose teachers have included Christina Morton and Jeannie DeDominick. Having won and placed in several concerto competitions, Kaylah also is involved in musical theatre, having been cast in lead roles in the Wizard of Oz and The Addams Family at her school, Cape Henry Collegiate. She will play the first movement of de Beriot's Concerto No. 7 for Violin.

The Stars Aligned Siblings are a very young quartet from San Pablo, Calif. Members are all siblings from the Breshears family: violinists Dustin, 13, and Valery, 11; cellist Starla, 12; and violist Colin, 8. Their teacher is Ayke Agus, who has been schooling them in the traditions of her own teacher, Jascha Heifetz. The siblings have already taken their show on the road, touring United Kingdom, Argentina, Mexico, and in the United States and appearing in festivals, broadcasts and competitions, where they have won numerous awards. They will play the first movement of Beethoven's Quartet, Op. 18, No. 6.

You might also like:

Replies

July 25, 2020 at 08:21 PM · Starla Breshears was just in the news regarding a stolen cello. She didn’t steal it. Look here if you’re interested.

July 26, 2020 at 11:51 PM · That was just a great livestream Laurie the performances were amazing and you and Gil Shaham have such generous spirits. I commented that I was smiling so hard that I thought my face broke (I think it's just a mild sprain). I was a little disappointed that there weren't more people enjoying it in real time but hey it's still there for all to enjoy. Great job looking forward to more!

July 27, 2020 at 05:27 AM · Delightful, and MUCH BETTER audio/video. Thank you!

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Philippe Quint in Concert
Philippe Quint in Concert

Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning
Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases

Fiddlerman.com

Fiddlershop

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Violin-Strings.com

Metzler Violin Shop

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of Violinist.com in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews.

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine

Subscribe