Watch Gilharmonic on Violinist.com, Episode 4!

July 3, 2020, 6:28 PM · Join us on Sunday for Episode 4 of "Gilharmonic on Violinist.com" -- the happiest hour of live violin talk online, hosted by Gil Shaham and me! You can watch it right here at 11 a.m. Pacific, noon Mountain, 1 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. in London.

Our guests this week include:

Kurt Sassmannshaus, founder of ViolinMasterclass.com and professor of violin at the University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music. He will play Wieniawski's "Etudes-Caprices" Op. 18 No. 1 for us, with his student Christina Nam.

Roberts Balanas, 25, whose virtuoso rendition of Elton John's "I'm Still Standing" recently went viral after Sir Elton gave it high praise. Originally from Latvia, Roberts is earning an Advanced Diploma at London's Royal Academy of Music, where he studies with Rodney Friend. He'll play his brand-new version of "Back in Black" by ACDC for us.

Claire Lee, 10, from Farmington, Connecticut, a student of Christie Felsing, who will play Rameau's "Gavotte" for us. Claire plays in the West Woods School Orchestra, the Hartt Suzuki program's Intermezzo Orchestra; and she was chosen for the Suzuki Youth Orchestra of the Americas, which was to have played at the 2020 SAA Conference.

Editor's Note: Here is a link to the four-string version of the National Anthem to which Roberts Balanas referred during the show, and just to connect everything, the performance occurred at Kurt Sassmannshaus's Great Wall Academy in 2008!

You might also like:

Replies

July 4, 2020 at 04:49 PM · I am unclear about one thing. What time is it on on the East Coast (Eastern Time)?

July 4, 2020 at 06:04 PM · Hi Pauline, 2 pm Eastern. :)

July 6, 2020 at 03:27 AM · I read the following in Christina's biography: "Nam currently studies with renowned pedagogue Kurt Sassmannshaus in Cincinnati Starling Project, and privately with Amy J. Lee and Jan Mark Sloman. Nam will be attending the Juilliard School in the Fall of 2020 as a full scholarship student of Catherine Cho and Donald Weilerstein."

Is that the thing now, to have multiple violin teachers at the same time? If so, then surely you'd think a place like Juilliard would be able to give her more than just two! She could have a different teacher for every day of the week at an outfit like that!

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Philippe Quint in Concert
Philippe Quint in Concert

Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning
Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases

Fiddlerman.com

Fiddlershop

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Violin-Strings.com

Metzler Violin Shop

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of Violinist.com in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews.

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine

Subscribe